City of Red Wing

Nominations Sought for Human Rights Award

Wednesday, July 28 2010 12:00 AM

Colleen Haley, Commissioner, Human Rights Commission 
Since 2001, the annual Amos Owen Award has recognized an individual in the community for their work in promoting and ensuring others’ human rights. The award’s namesake was a Prairie Island Mdewakanton elder and spiritual leader who worked tirelessly to preserve Dakota language and culture. Past recipients are: Dean Preheim Bartell, Dan Guida, Paul Dressen, David Harris, Noah White, Jr., Dennis Drews Fosado, Regina Nicolosi, Winfred Red Cloud, John Nordgaard, and Donna Dummer. 

Nominations for this year's Amos Owen Award should reach the Red Wing Human Rights Commission by August 15, 2010. Red Wing citizens should nominate a person who actively promotes justice and equality for others. The worthiest candidate will have performed human rights work differentiated from humanitarian work. Selection of the award recipient will be made by the Human Rights Commission. This year, the award will be given during the Diversity Festival at 1:00 under the band shell in Central Park. This is a notable venue change from previous years.

Submission form 

Please deliver or mail this form to The Law Enforcement Center, 430 West 6th Street Red Wing; Attn. Tim Sletten or you may call in the name of your nominee to Kirsten Fridell, Chair, Red Wing Human Rights Commission at 388-5934.

Share Page
Normal Font Size Large Font Size
Spread the word: