City of Red Wing

Amos Owens Award

Tuesday, May 22 2012 12:00 AM

Since 2001, the annual Amos Owen Award has recognized an individual in the Red Wing community for his/her work in promoting and ensuring others' human rights. The award's namesake was a Prairie Island Mdewakanton elder and spiritual leader who worked tirelessly to preserve Dakota language and culture. Past recipients are: Dean Preheim Bartell, Dan Guida, Paul Dressen, David Harris, Noah White, Jr., Denise Drews Fosado, Regina Nicolosi, Winfred Red Cloud, John Nordgaard, Donna Dummer, Heather Marx, Audra Quandt and Marilyn Olson.

Nominations for this year's Amos Owen Award should reach the Red Wing Human Rights Commission by August 15, 2012. Red Wing citizens should nominate a person who actively promotes justice and equality for others. The worthiest candidate will have performed human rights work differentiated from humanitarian work. Selection of the award recipient will be made by the Human Rights Commission. The Amos Owen Award will be presented at the Red Wing Diversity Festival on Saturday September 8, 2012.

Amos Owen flyer

Amos Owen nomination form

Share Page
Normal Font Size Large Font Size
Spread the word: